Being arrested for a DUI can be daunting for anyone. Driving under the influence is a criminal offense in the state of Georgia. If you are convicted, it can result in severe legal consequences. This makes it critical to be aware of state laws and the penalties that can occur. It is also vital to have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. They can represent you throughout your case.
A “driving under the influence” charge is most commonly known as a DUI. It occurs when an individual is driving or in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A law enforcement officer has the right to pull any driver over and subject them to legal tests if they suspect them to be under the influence. You may be charged with a DUI in the state of Georgia if:
If you are ultimately convicted of a DUI in Georgia, there are a variety of penalties that you may face depending on how severe your charge is. Generally, the state of Georgia penalizes individuals based on the number of prior convictions they have had in the past 10 years. The average consequences for an individual convicted of a DUI include:
1st Offense Consequences:
2nd Offense Consequences:
3rd Offense Consequences:
4th Offense or Offense Involving Injury or Death Consequences:
The 3-hour rule, otherwise known as a DUI per se, can be used to charge an individual with a DUI. The 3-hour rule applies if their BAC is over 0.08% within three hours of when they stopped operating the vehicle. In this situation, it is known that the alcohol was consumed before they operated the vehicle. Therefore, they were under the influence while driving, even if it took a few hours for their BAC to get to 0.08%.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Georgia, do not panic. If you find an experienced DUI lawyer who can properly represent you, you may have a strong chance of getting your case dismissed if your charge is not too serious. In fact, most Georgia DUI cases end with the defendant’s acquittal.
In most cases, a DUI will be considered a misdemeanor for a defendant’s first three offenses in Georgia. However, an individual can be charged with a felony DUI if they:
An open container is considered to be any alcoholic beverage that is:
Georgia has strict laws stating that no alcoholic beverages can be possessed or consumed in the driver or passenger area of a vehicle. It is also illegal to have open containers anywhere in the vehicle.
Here at The Law Office of Delisa Williams PC, our team is committed to representing the rights of our Georgia clients. We know how intimidating charges like DUIs can be. This is why we are prepared to work with you to find the most optimal solution possible for your situation. If you were charged with a DUI in the Atlanta area, do not delay in asking how The Law Office of Delisa Williams PC can help you. To schedule a consultation with us, or to learn more about our different services, contact us today.