Experienced Atlanta, GA Defense Lawyers Represent Clients Charged With Assault And Battery
If you are charged with assault or battery, you may be facing prison time and high fines. You need an Atlanta Assault and Battery Attorney who is determined and serious about fighting for you, one with the experience and knowledge to succeed. At The Law Office of Delisa Williams PC, we defend individuals in the Atlanta area and throughout Georgia accused of assault or battery. Our Atlanta Assault and Battery Lawyers are true advocates for your rights.
Generally, assault is the threat of violence, and battery is any violent or unwanted touching. These charges vary by state, and the names of the two crimes are often used interchangeably. In some states, they are not considered separate offenses. Actions such as hitting, kicking, punching, or pushing are considered to be assaults. Many other actions, such as grabbing or spitting, can also lead to these charges. Our attorneys fight all types of assault and battery charges and work to review the details of your specific case to give you individualized guidance.
If you’re looking at assault and battery charges in Georgia, you should know that the law distinguishes between assaults and batteries and classifies them according to their severity. In Georgia, assault is defined as the threat of battery. In other words, if you’re accused of assault, you are being accused of intentionally causing someone to think you will harm them. For example, if you threaten someone or attempt to physically attack them, it will be considered assault. You can only be charged with the crime of battery if physical contact between you and another person actually occurs.
In Georgia, assault ranges from simple to aggravated but always includes the threat of violence. If you are charged with simple assault, you are being accused of attempting to commit violent injury. For example, simple assaults may include the following:
If you are convicted of a simple assault misdemeanor, you can face one or more of the following penalties:
You need to keep in mind that the punishments you might face for a simple assault will depend on the unique context of your experience. For example, you might have to pay up to $5,000 if the court considers the assault of a high and aggravated nature, like an assault on a pregnant woman or an individual who is over 65 years old. If you really want to understand the specific risks and fines you will face, make sure to consult with an experienced assault attorney.
On the other hand, if you’re charged with aggravated assault, you’re looking at a serious felony charge. Georgia law considers aggravated assault the intention of raping, killing, or robbing someone or threatening violence with a weapon. For instance, aggravated assaults include:
If you’re facing aggravated assault charges, you need to contact an assault and battery attorney immediately. Without a strong defense lawyer, you might face up to 20 years in prison and have to pay tens of thousands of dollars in fines for aggravated assault. You could face punishments like:
In Georgia, an act is considered battery if physical harm or contact is involved, and battery is also ranked from simple to aggravated. In order to prove that you’ve committed battery, there must be proof that you intended to make physical contact and that you actually did. For example, the following actions can lead to a simple battery charge:
If you’re charged with simple battery in the state that you’re confronted with a misdemeanor charge, which could lead to you facing consequences like:
If you are accused of causing someone malicious bodily harm, you are accused of aggravated battery, which is a charge that could permanently change your life. Georgia law takes battery crimes seriously, as it includes actions like the following:
The punishments you might face for aggravated battery depend on what events unfolded. For example, if you are charged with committing aggravated battery upon a public safety officer in Georgia, you can face no less than ten and up to 20 years in prison. Your criminal defense attorney can help you understand what punishments you face, but they might include the following:
Assaults occur for a variety of reasons. Many assault or battery charges stem from simple fights. In these cases, our attorneys work to show that you were acting in self-defense and are not a violent criminal. Other assaults are gang-related or occur in conjunction with other crimes such as robbery. Assaults of a sexual nature are treated differently by the law. In all cases, our attorneys present a strong defense in an attempt to preserve your freedom.
Most states have a variety of assault charges such as aggravated assault or assault in the first degree. Depending on the facts of your case, the state may choose to charge you with a higher-level crime than is necessary. Our attorneys work to get your charges reduced through a variety of pretrial motions. We also fight to get our clients the most lenient sentence possible under the circumstances.
A: You might go to jail for assault and battery in Georgia, but you might not. It all depends on what exactly happened in your experience and how serious the court finds your case. For example, if you’re found guilty of a simple assault or a simple battery, you could be staring headfirst at one year in prison. However, if you are convicted of aggravated assault or aggravated battery, you could be convicted of 20 years in prison.
A: If you’re found guilty of assault and battery in the state of Georgia, you might have to pay fines and restitution and go to jail for a certain period of time. The precise nature of the punishments will vary based on what you were found guilty of, but they can range from one to 20 years in prison and paying fines of up to $200,000.
A: In Georgia, aggravated assault and aggravated battery are felonies. Assaults and batteries are “aggravated” if they involve serious intended harm or serious physical harm to another individual. If you’re facing a simple assault or simple battery charge, you’re facing a misdemeanor. No matter the level, assault and battery are intense charges, and you need to take them seriously and seek legal support right away.
A: Getting simple battery charges dropped is tricky, so you need to contact a skilled assault and battery attorney. Your lawyer can craft a strategic, individualized defense. For example, they might be able to claim that what happened was self-defense or that physical contact didn’t really occur, and thus, the action can’t be considered battery.
If you’re charged with assault or battery, you need a strong defense. At The Law Office of Delisa Williams PC, we understand how stressful assault and battery charges can be, and we are here to stand up for your rights in this overwhelming time. Call The Law Office of Delisa Williams PC at 404-903-1037 or contact us online to schedule your consultation at our Atlanta office.